crochet

Cupcakes and Ice Cream Cones

I found this adorable pattern on Pinterest for a cupcake garland and decided to give it a try. After I’d made several of the cupcakes I thought the garland would look cute with some ice cream cones alternating between the cupcakes. That set me on another search for the perfect ice cream cone pattern which was easier said than done.

I found adorable amigurumi cupcakes all over the place, a number of which I hope to try soon, and a few smallish applique patterns but none that worked with the size cupcakes I had, so I improvised!

Here it is hanging on a tree in my backyard.

 

I used the “frosting” directions from the cupcake pattern for the ice cream but I used a 4.0 mm (G) hook instead of the 5.5 mm (I) hook called for in the pattern.  I attached the cone to the ice cream in the same way that the cake is attached to the frosting in the original pattern. I then decreased at the beginning of every row beginning with the third row, until I worked a triangular shaped cone.

 

I used Red Heart Super Saver and Caron acrylic yarn and for the sprinkles I glued on tiny plastic and wooden beads and mini colored pom poms using fabric glue. I have to say I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out. Don’t they almost look good enough to eat?

 

To string them together I used 3 different colors, attaching the cupcakes and ice cream cones with a simple chain for the first row. The second row was done with double crochet and the third row was done with a repeating pattern of chain 3, skip 1 dc and sc into the next, all the way across. It gives it a lacy look and fancies it up a bit. On the last row I added extra chains at each end and slip stitched to make loops for hanging.

My plan is to give this to my granddaughter for her 8th birthday. And I’ve already started another one for her cousin who will be 9 later this summer. I have a sneaky feeling they will both like the garlands. I think I want one too!

5 thoughts on “Cupcakes and Ice Cream Cones

  1. Thanks Elaine. I started with the free online pattern by Twinkie Chan and then added to her original. I couldn't have pulled off what I did without her original design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

