Back to the Classics Challenge 2015 · Books

Reading Goals for 2015

Karen of Books and Chocolate (doesn’t that sound like a great combination!) has a Back to the Classics Challenge going on for 2015 and I thought I’d take on the challenge. I had already decided that I wanted to read more books this year but I wasn’t exactly sure what categories of books I would include.

I’m not particularly well read, I’m sorry to say, even after homeschooling for, it seems like a lifetime. Considering I followed the methods of Charlotte Mason with my children, it is rather pathetic just how poorly read I am. If you know anything about Charlotte Mason you know it means reading lots of living, classic, ageless books.  I have read far too few of them, in fact, only a fraction of the books my children read as they were homeschooled through high school. Hence, they are much better read than I am and so I decided that now that I’m a retired homeschool mom it is high time I catch up with them, or at least make the attempt. So when I read about Karen’s challenge I thought it would be just the nudge I needed to get reading.

So, here are my plans, so far:

1. A 19th Century Classic: Barchester Towers by Anthony Trollope

2. A 20th Century Classic: Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather

3. A Classic by a Woman Author: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

4. A Classic in Translation: Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

5. A Very Long Classic Novel: ??

6. A Classic Novella: The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

7. A Classic With a Person’s Name in the Title: Villette by Charlotte Bronte

8. A Humorous or Satirical Classic: The Battle of the Books by Jonathan Swift

9. A Forgotten Classic: The King’s General by Daphne du Maurier

10. A Nonfiction Classic: ??

11. A Classic Children’s Book: Roverandom by J. R. R. Tolkien

12. A Classic Play: The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde

Some of these books can fit into several categories which means I may sort them differently as I work through them and/or discover different books I’d rather read along the way. 

I’ll keep you posted as I read!

14 thoughts on “Reading Goals for 2015

  1. That's great! Maybe we can orchestrate life and attempt to read it at the same time, and even discuss it. The books I've listed are my plans but we shall see if I end up changing my mind on some of them. Plus, I haven't chosen any titles in several categories. I am looking forward to the challenge of this!

    Like

  2. lol… I try hard.
    I just got a smart phone, and I was aghast realizing I could not comment on my blog via phone. So in the process, I ended up loosing all the comments you and others left these past months that I used intense debate… sigh… now I am back to blogger, and I am glad to see we can use phones to comment, but those posts are blocked (and I am trying to fix that too).

    Like

  3. I just finished reading my first Willa Cather novel in January…it was wonderful! Now, I'm working through Quo Vadis? by Henryk Sienkiewicz. I think I'm going to count it for a Classic in Translation, but maybe it would fit in a very long classic novel? Either way, the book is good so far 🙂

    Blessings,
    Melissa

    Like

  4. Thanks for stopping by Melissa. I'm almost done with Barchester Towers and I hope to write a review on it very soon. I've previously read two Cather books, My Antonia and The Song of the Lark and am looking forward to beginning Death Comes for the Archbishop soon….so many books/too little time!

    Like

  5. You'll love The King's General, and The Battle of Books is super fun (a bit bizarre too), and very short. I wonder how it'll feel to read The Metamorphosis (but if you get to finish Crime… you could place it in LONG book, and move Metamorphosis to classic in translation, and free your spot for a novella.
    For non fiction, I am planning to re read The Abolition of Man by Lewis (any C.S. Lewis non fiction is always a great choice).

    Like

Leave a Reply

