Christmas · crochet

Crochet Christmas Projects

I’ve not been posting much recently but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been very busy crocheting, among other things.

I thought I’d share a few Christmas projects I’ve been working on.

First of all I finally completed the Granny Tree Skirt I started 2 years ago. It was love at first sight the moment I laid eyes on Sandra’s creation back in September 2014. To say I was wowed by it is an understatement.

I finished 2 of them and am going to begin a third very soon. One is under our main tree in the living room (both pictures above) and the other is under the tree in my daughters’ room. The third one I plan to make will sit underneath another small tree in our guest room.

I had to make some adjustments to the pattern because I wanted it to be larger. It took a little fiddling and I wasn’t sure I’d be able to pull it off but thankfully, I did. The project was a great stash-buster! It works perfectly with the mish-mash, unmatched, no-theme Christmas tree that we have. Most of the ornaments on it have been handmade with love by myself, family, and friends, some dating back to my childhood and before, that were handed down in the family.

I’ve made a number of Christmas dishcloths, mostly for gifts for friends and family. But it hit me a few days ago that I had none for myself so now I’m working on several for me! I’ve made many dishcloths over the years; too many to count. At the moment I probably have 10-15 sitting in a drawer ready to give away to whoever wants one but none of those are in Christmas colors!

I also made a little mandela “tree skirt rug” for a miniature tree I have sitting on a dresser in the dining room. I followed this pattern using Christmas colors, and a size H (5.0 mm) hook and it ended up with a diameter of almost 16 inches (40 cm).

The little tree wears a button garland and that’s all it wears except for a tiny gold star at the top! It seems to be enough.

And last but not least is the little elf Holly (about 12 inches tall). She was such fun to make! I’m especially happy with her elfin ears. I began working on her brother Jolly but so far I only have his legs made. It was my plan to share the pattern for them but unfortunately that isn’t likely to happen before Christmas.

The little sleigh is one that my mother found years ago, probably at a thrift store. Somebody constructed and painted it by hand. It’s too far from perfect to have been made otherwise. Back in the day it held a little Santa doll but he’s been lost for a long time.

Now Holly can sit in it.  I think she likes sitting there!

And aside from these projects I’ve also crocheted some little owl ornaments, scarves, hats, headband ear-warmers, snowflakes, and Christmas coasters. Christmas is only 10 days out and I still have a number of projects going at various stages of completion.

I think Christmas will get here before I finish everything!

How about you? Do you have any projects going?

13 thoughts on “Crochet Christmas Projects

    1. Well it is your pattern after all! I’m so glad you like it in Christmas colors. I’m so glad you shared it in the first place. I received many compliments on it from friends and family this past season! And I’ve been thinking of making one in pinks and purples and blues for spring.

      Like

Leave a Reply

