Christmas · crochet

A Snowflake Garland to Match the Winter Wreath

I just love garlands and banners. They are so fun and add so much to the general theme of the season. Especially when they’re strung across the mantel of the fireplace. I’ve seen so many beautiful crocheted garlands on Pinterest for every season, every whim, every occasion, draped gracefully above the fireplace. They totally “make” the room serving as the focal point! All eyes are pulled in that direction.

Unfortunately the house I live in has no fireplace. It’s the first place I’ve lived as an adult that we didn’t have one, (not counting our 3 years living in Army housing in Germany which also lacked a fireplace). It was a disappointment, believe me. I shouldn’t complain though because what the house lacks in not having a fireplace it makes up for in other areas.

So, what’s a girl to do when she has no fireplace with no mantel to hang seasonal garlands and banners on, not to mention Christmas stockings? A wooden shelf with pegs hung on the wall. That shelf, made by my wonderful husband has become my mantel…of sorts.

I’ve made several garlands that I’ve hung across those pegs. Last spring I made one of flowers, different colors, shapes, and sizes from various patterns I found all across the web. I kept it up from spring through summer, except for several weeks in July when I hung some patriotic bunting to celebrate Independence Day.

In the fall I made an autumn themed granny garland which I blogged about here. And for the winter I wanted a winter garland as well. Similar to my winter wreath, with its snowmen and snowflakes theme, I wanted the winter garland to be snowflakes. Initially I made a simple garland of just snowflakes strung together with a band of 3 rows of single crochet worked in blue and white. I really liked how it turned out, but hanging across my “mantel”, well, it just didn’t do it for me. It didn’t have quite the pizazz I was hoping for. I hadn’t realized that the white snowflakes would almost look invisible against the cream colored wall.

So it was back to the drawing board.

How about blue and white flags with the snowflakes sewed on top? Yes, now that was an idea! I used a variegated blue to make the flags and then added the snowflakes. To finish it off I edged each flag in white and included a little snowball at the bottom point. Now the snowflakes would stand out against the darker background.

Making the flags was pretty straight forward. Lucy of Attic 24 has directions here which I followed for the basic flag shape.

Above the snowflake flag garland is a mini snowflake garland with only 4 snowflakes. This was the same pattern I used to make the snowflakes that surround the winter wreath. Four snowflakes hang perfectly across 3 pegs. I couldn’t have planned that better.

I couldn’t stop making “snowball” garlands either and thought one would look nicely hanging behind the winter garland. It really looks more like a popcorn string than a snowball string (whoever heard of stringing snowballs?). Of course on the Christmas tree it’s a popcorn garland but here it’s a snowball garland! What does it matter what it’s called anyway? If I like it then that’s all that matters, right?

Making garlands is so much fun, a quick and easy project, with almost instant gratification!

I have several ideas percolating in my brain for a Valentine’s Day garland. We shall see!

Happy crocheting!

4 thoughts on “A Snowflake Garland to Match the Winter Wreath

  1. Thanks Silvia….My brain is working on it, but so far my hands have been occupied with other projects. Hopefully it will all come together in time!

    Like

Leave a comment